Home > Linux, Scripts > Show the TO-DO list from your Freemind in conky

Show the TO-DO list from your Freemind in conky

Introduction (if you look for instructions, skip this part)

I tried a lot of software (offline and online) to help me with my tasks. I tried using specialized software, I tried different built-in things (like Firefox\Thunderbird plugins), I tried Rememberthemilk and similar services on the Web, but the same problem remained – the information was too far from my eyes. It was either not noticeable, or stayed on my screen for not enough time, or I had to remember myself to view my to-do list.

Then conky came into my sight. I see it everyday, it stays on my desktop all the time, and I got an idea – why not show the to-do list in it? The idea isn’t new, one can say, but there is another problem – I’m too lazy to keep updated one more file for this list. But wait, I regularly work with Freemind, and it is fairly easy to create another branch directly for to-do management. Thus, I wrote this script that eased my life and may someday ease another one’s.

Instructions

To use this script, follow the next steps:

  1. Download the file conkytodo.sh from here and place it somewhere safe(e.g. into the Scripts folder).
  2. Open conkytodo.sh in the text editor and change the following options:
    MINDMAP_FILE – the Freemind file where you keep your to-do list
    TODO_NODE – name of the root element of your to-do list. For example, you can create a node in Freemind called “To-Do” and provide this name to this option, and all child nodes of this branch will be shown in conky.
  3. Allow the file conkytodo.sh to be executable. To do this, open the terminal window, go to the directory where the file lies and enter the following:

    chmod +x conkytodo.sh

  4. Open your conky configuration file and append there these lines:

    max_user_text 16384
    ${execpi 10 ~/Scripts/conkytodo.sh}

    The first option extends the limit for a text that a command can write. The second one actually outputs the text and specifies the delay between updates (here it is 10 seconds) and the path to the script (of course, change it to where your script is).

  5. That’s all, now if everything is right, your conky will print the name of nodes from the to-do branch (which name you specified in step 2).
especially
Categories: Linux, Scripts Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

